Energy Research

15th February 2017:

Congratulations to Hannes Kraus, who has been awarded a NASA Postdoctoral Program Fellowship at the NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory. The NASA Postdoctoral Program is extremely selective, and this Fellowship is a recognition of his highly ranked academic and scientific achievement.

6th February 2017:

Germany’s international broadcaster Deutsche Welle posted a video on Organic Solar Cells taken in our EP6 labs. Watch the video.

19th January 2017:

Congratulations to our perovskite group, who published its recent findings related to various recombination mechanisms in the ACS and NPG journals. In particular, in the ACS Energy Letters they demonstrated how to reduce the shunt and surface recombination by employing polyarylamine as electron transport layer. This work was done in collaboration with our partners from the University of Valencia, Spain. In Scientific Reports they demonstrated how to improve charge carrier lifetime in planar perovskite solar cells by bromine doping. Have a look at our list of publications.

27th October 2016:

DFG and the Austrian FWF approved the bilateral proposal "Quantum Control of Spin Centers in Silicon Carbide with Microcavities" under D-A-CH Lead-Agency. The purpose of this project is to realize light matter interfaces based on optically active defects in SiC. Project partners are Dr. Georgy Astakhov, EPVI, Uni Würzburg and Dr. Michael Trupke from Vienna Center for Quantum Science and Technology, TU Vienna.

11th July 2016:

DFG and the Russian Science Foundation (RSF) approved the bilateral proposal "Polytype and isotope engineering of silicon carbide for quantum microwave amplifiers". The purpose of this project is to demonstrate quantum microwave amplification in SiC. Project partners are University of Würzburg and Ioffe Institute, Saint Petersburg, Russia. 14 Russian-German research proposals (of more than 120) will be funded under the framework of this first joint call.

6th July 2016:

Good news from Brussels! Horizon 2020 Project SEPOMO - Spins for Efficient Photovoltaic Devices based on Organic Molecules was selected for funding. The project objective is to clarify the role of electron spins of photo-generated species in the efficiency of organic solar cells. The EU Commission has granted ca. 4 Mio. Euro to pursue this research and training network in 6 European countries in the coming 4 years.

14th July 2015:

Congratulations! The proposal DIABASE “Highly sensitive diamond and carborundum nano-sensors and bio-markers with NIR optical addressability”, submitted under the ERA.Net RUS Plus initiative has been selected for funding. Project partners are: Würzburg / Germany (as Coordinator), Ulm and Stuttgart / Germany, Moscow and St. Petersburg / Russia, Vienna / Austria, Krakow / Poland, Tallin / Estonia, Turku / Finland.

21st May 2015:

Congratulations to Katrin Anneser, ZAE Bayern and EP6. Her project "Development of an energy efficient solar energy storage system based on a printed solar cell and supercapacitor" will be funded by Deutsche Bundesumweltstiftung (DBU).

19th May 2015:

Our new publication on room-temperature single-emitters based on spin centers in SiC: The work entitled "Engineering near infrared single photon emitters with optically active spins in ultrapure silicon carbide" has been accepted for publication in Nature Communications. Have a look at the preprint at arXiv:1407.7065.

11th May 2015:

The German Research Council (DFG) established a new Research Training Group (GRK2112) Molecular Biradicals: Structure, Properties and Reactivity, in which EP6 is participating. See also the press release of the University of Würzburg (in German).

News Archive

Chair of Experimental Physics VI
University of Würzburg
Am Hubland
97074 Würzburg

Tel. +49-(0)931 31 83110
Fax +49-(0)931 31 83109

We closely cooperate with Division
Functional Materials for Energy Technology
of the ZAE Bayern

ZAE Bayern eV - Centre of Applied Energy Research      365 Orte im Land der Ideen

which was selected to be one of
365 Landmarks in the Land of Ideas.


sponsored by Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG)
sponsored by Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF)
sponsored by the European Union
IHK Mainfranken
Bayerisches Staatsministerium für Wirtschaft, Infrastruktur, Verkehr und Technologie &
Regierung von Unterfranken
Regierung von Unterfranken